General Gaming News

‘Hitman’ Having Full Episodic Release Structure


Io Interactive and Square Enix have announced that they’re are going to go a different route with releasing their new HITMAN game. A change to the release structure, sees HITMAN become a “truly episodic AAA game experience, with a major live component.”

It all starts on March 11 with the release of a prologue and a mission located in Paris. Following that will be the next location, set in Italy releasing in April and then Morocco releasing in May. From there HITMAN will deliver regular monthly content updates, including three additional locations; Thailand, the US and Japan until the season concludes in Japan later in 2016. With weekly live events and additional planned content in between the monthly updates.

“We decided to take the full leap and publish HITMAN as a truly episodic game experience,” said Hannes Seifert, Head of Studio at Io-Interactive. “Part of that decision is for that little bit of extra time to ensure every location we release is at the quality level fitting for a HITMAN game. But the main driving reason is that this will allow us to create a living game that will expand and evolve over time and establish a foundation for the future – this is the first game in a storyline which will continue and expand with future Hitman games.”

Players can pay $15 for the Intro Pack (prologue and Paris) and then $10 for subsequent locations or pony up $60 up front for the first year of content.

A retail disc version is set to release at the end of 2016.

For players wanting to get into the game early, the HITMAN beta starts on February 12th on PlayStation 4 and February 19th on PC. Players can guarantee access to the beta by pre-ordering the Full Experience or the new Intro Pack.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s